Burger King and a Fire Drill

So today I realized just how much they had broken us.  Today was the first time in two weeks that we were able to eat anywhere but at the chow hall sitting at attention in complete silence.  On Friday we earned Maxwell AFB privileges which meant we could eat dinner anywhere on base. Our options were Burger King.  Honestly, we were  like a pack of catholic school girls drunk for the first time.  We could certainly been described as giddy.  On Irving Park Road there is a Burger King about 2 blocks from my apartment.  I never once in the three years I lived in Chicago ate there.  Tonight I ate Burger King as if it were actually food prepared by a king especially for me.  Drinking Dr. Pepper…well, that I can’t even describe adequately.  Chicken you didn’t have to chew at least a hundred times before safely swallowing.  And best of all, sitting, slouched in my chair, my feet NOT at a 45 degree angle and talking about anything and everything.  Until that moment, when we did one of the most normal things a person can do, go to a fast food restaurant, did I realize how skillfully they make you what they need you to be.

Now after Burger King when we were safely back in our dorms, they decided this would be a good time for a fire drill.  That was a dangerous combination.  A stomach full of greasy food and running across an Air Force base screaming fire.  And I’m not even kidding about the yelling fire…it’s expected.  Apparently the running wasn’t necessary but we were all on such a high, Hotel Flight beat everyone out to the safe zone by like 5 minutes.  Apparently as I streaked past another flight screaming fire and waiving my hands in the air, they, upon seeing me running, panicked and started running themselves.  One of my flight members told them to relax, they didn’t need to run, that was just our athletic director, she likes to run and apparently is easily excitable. I will also have you all know that fires are no laughing matter and should be taken seriously…as I’m sure my roommate would agree since she took her Burger King milk shake with her as she ran screaming out of the dorm.

Those are my stories for tonight.  I hope everyone enjoyed my grossly contorted face on the pictures from the assault course.  This week we have a ropes course which includes climbing a 4 story tall structure and then walking out on a balance beam at the top.  Should be terrifying. We also have a memo, 2 tests, and a briefing due.  That’s my excuse for the short post but this is our last week of intense academic stuff so hopefully less homework in the upcoming weeks will mean more regular posts from me.  I expect you to all be sending my flight good vibes in maintaining our athletic superiority (Tom didn’t tell you we got the top spot out of 10 flights…not too shabby) and pulling ahead in academics which we got second place in this last week.  Oh, and also, just for the record I cannot take credit for Hotel Flight’s athletic dominance.  I was lucky enough to have some very athletic people in my flight and everyone is willing to work their butts off to keep getting better.  Not to mention that my workout plans are coming from Tom’s mom anyway.  So that covers it…since Tom keeps doing an awesome job with maintaining, I really feel like you guys are pretty up to date on my comings and goings.  I miss you all…

9 Responses to Burger King and a Fire Drill

  1. Matt Rosine says:

    Great job Anna. When are you starting WCW – USAF Branch?

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Anna, you made Burger King sound so good I might just walk those 2 blocks down Irving Park and buy myself a whopper and milk shake. But Taco Bell is only another couple blocks away…

    Keep kicking butt this week! Maybe Tom can send you his Green Man suit for the 5K:) Love you!

  3. Debbie says:

    Anna, I am SO glad you have a blog so we can all keep updated on your blog. You’re doing a really good job! 😉

  4. Megan says:

    Hey Anna! I laughed out loud when I read this blog 🙂 So glad we get to hear how things are going for you! We miss you lots!

  5. mom says:

    What a great edition. I read it over lunch and it made me wish there was a Burger King near by. Your insight is right on; ‘they make you what they need you to be’.
    I’m really grateful that Chris Daymont has all the skills she has. As for me, well if you need help decorating your room or accssorizing, I’m your gal. Keep it tough. Love you!

  6. Kim says:

    Way to make us Bergstroms proud! And Daymont might not be that bad….at least you won’t have to point to your ass everytime you are trying to tell someone your last name!

  7. Barb Kimpe says:

    Great job Anna. See all those Dunes runs and water games helped keep you in shape. And you thought you were just on a Dunes vacation.

  8. daymonster says:

    Kim, it took me a few seconds to figure out what you were talking about. I was trying to think of what “Bergstrom” had to do with your butt.

    But Question, why can’t you point to the cheek on your face?

  9. Kjersten says:

    Anna, I loved this post! Hope all continues to go well for you!

Leave a Reply

