Graduation Time

Before you all fly into a rage at me, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for my delinquency in updating my blog.  Florida seems like eons ago and there’s no good excuse for not being a more timely blogger.  So what’s happened over the last few (yeah, I’m a liar, I know it’s been way more than that) weeks? 

Well, a lot has happened.  We’ve done two moot courts and taken another test.  I passed the test and I’m pretty sure the moot courts.  Nothing wildly exciting happened…no Perry Mason (or as I prefer, Matlock) moments.  Everyone passed the final test in my class which means that on Friday we’ll all graduate.  We all also passed the military justice portions of the course so that we will also be certified in military justice.  We have also taken two PT tests.  Today was the second and final one.  Now since arriving in Alabama I have now taken the PT test a total of 5 times.  Your run of the mill member of the Air Force takes it once a year.  So I guess at this point it shouldn’t be such a big deal for me to take it…again and again.  But here’s the thing, I consider myself a somewhat athletic person (meaning I don’t hurt myself every time I undertake an athletic endeavor) and therefore I felt it necessary to set a high goal for myself on this test I would have multiple opportunities to take.  I didn’t see any reason why I shouldn’t be getting a perfect score (100 – we like to keep things simple in the AF).  In my previous 4 test I have fallen into the 95 to 98.75 range.  Today, and I know you’re all waiting with bated breath at this point, I managed a perfect score!  Now some of my more athletically gifted friends may find this only mildly impressive but that’s not really the point.  Impressing the lot of you is on my to-do list but not right at the top.  Mostly I was just happy that today, for whatever reason, for the first time I was able to do 45 push ups in a minute.  Again, no mind blowing feat but it’s a goal attained and no matter how low the bar, I know you all will be proud of me for that.

OK, on to more interesting things I’ve done over the last month or so.  The highlight was probably our week long trip to Washington, D.C.  I’ve been to D.C. before but not since I was young and I have very little memory of it.  I learned a lot of things in D.C.  I learned that the cherry blossoms generally peak sometime in late March or early April (they peaked while we were there…very nice).  I learned what the inside of the Pentagon and the U.S. Supreme Court looks like.  I learned that Georgetown is probably one of the most beautiful campuses ever.  And finally, I learned that my boss (and I mean my ultimate, 3 star general, big boss – not the president, don’t get carried away), reads my blog.  Now I won’t go into detail about how I found this out or what the repercussions were (they only involved me having to drink orange chunky liquid in front of a large group of high ranking JAGs) but I will say that TJAG (“The JAG” – I’m not kidding) has a sense of humor.  Anyway, D.C. was a very informative and at the same time terrifying trip that I will never forget.  Here are some pictures since what would a blog post be without them.

Amber, Joni, and I in front of the Air Force Memorial:

AF Memorial

A bunch of us at the dining out…this is after pouring orange lumpy stuff on myself.  I still look pretty happy:

D.C. Dining Out

And a quick shot in the Mall and no, Amber, there is no Old Navy at this mall…

group-washington-monument

Hopefully by updating I’ve redeemed myself a little.  I will be back in Chicago on Tuesday and then it’s on to Grand Forks for me to start being a real lawyer for the first time.  I only graduated a year ago so that’s normal…right?  I can’t wait to see everyone in the QCA, Chicago, and/or Twin Cities.  I will try to quickly post something/anything about graduation.  I’m sure there will be lots of pictures but hopefully not more embarrassing trips to the grog…also another explanation for another time.

3 Responses to Graduation Time

  1. Tom says:

    I see, give no credit to the photographer, eh? See you in 12 hours.

  2. Heather says:

    Can’t wait to see you in Chicago!!!!

  3. Heather says:

    Can’t wait to see you in Chicago!!

Leave a Reply

