Garden Update

I realize that calling my potted flowers and vegetables a garden may be a bit bold but I’m close enough that I’m going to call it in terms of horseshoes (close only counts in horseshoes…oh, nevermind).  Since I haven’t updated the progress of all my plants since my initial set of pictures back in May, I thought I’d post a few updated ones.  Here’s the front:

My one hosta exploded and engulfed everything around it but in my gardening world, that kind of behavior is encouraged.  If I can get anything to grown well, I’m happy.

Now on to the back.  Yes, I have two grills.  Yes, one of them has a gas tank bigger than the grill itself.  Listen, it’s not even a big deal.  Just chill.

I don’t have any control over when the yard is mowed and as of yet, the pattern is unclear.  They usually come to mow about a week and a half after it’s already needed to be mowed for a week.  The thick patches of grass are ideal for mosquitos to live in so I think a fair assumption is that those in charge of mowing my lawn are somehow in league with the giant mosquitos that plague Grand Forks.  Maybe it’s like a mafia thing.  There’s money changing hands that no one sees.  I bet the mosquitos could get a liquor license if they wanted to.

If you look closely at my hanging tomato plant, you can see this:

 I’ve also planted cucumbers, cherry tomatoes and green peppers.  The mowers (seriously, bane of my existance) some how managed to run over one of my cucumber vines but they seem to be bouncing back fairly well.  No signs of peppers yet but the cherry tomatoes are starting to take shape.  I’ve never really planted much in the way of veggies before but some day I hope to have a huge garden so this is just a warm up. 

The next couple of weeks has a vacation to the Dunes, a Cubs game, and a major court martial in store for me so I apologize in advance if I drop off the face of the earth.  Don’t worry.  You’ll manage without me…for a little bit at least.

One Response to Garden Update

  1. Julie says:

    Looking great!! I hope to get a small-ish garden up and running here in the not too distant future!

Leave a Reply

