The Social Network

I have always dreaded going to a movie alone.  It’s unbecoming.  Sure, people do it all the time but even those brave souls would probably admit that there’s a stigma attached to going to a movie alone.  It’s perfectly fine to watch a movie alone in your home but to do it surrounded by people who are not alone, well that’s just socially unacceptable.  With all that being said, tonight I went to a movie alone.  Not only did I go to a movie alone, I went to a movie that spends a great deal of time discussing coolness.  I won’t go as far as to call it irony but I will say it was an interesting coincidence.  But wait, it got more interesting. 

As I was driving to the theater, a giant herd of teenagers crossed in front of me.  This has nothing to do with the rest of the story but I knew it was a bad omen.  Teenagers and black cats are equally powerful distributors of bad luck.  Anyway, also as I was driving to the theater I noticed it was lightning.  Since I’ve been at Guantanamo Bay (did I mention I’m in Cuba now?  I am.), it has pretty consistently either thundered, lightninged or rained every evening.  So a little lightning was nothing to get upset about.  But about half way through the movie it started to pour.  I mean buckets of rain.  This isn’t making sense is it?  That’s because I haven’t yet told you that the theater is outdoors.  Completely open air.  There was nothing between me and the torrents of Cuban rain beating down on the island. 

So now I’m faced with a choice.  The movie was free so by leaving I’m not throwing away money.  However, movies come and only stay for a week or two down here.  If I leave now, I’ll have to come back at some other point, probably alone, and restart the movie and that’s only if I can make it before the movie stops showing.  I’ve made a lot of decisions in my life but this one was a toughy.  But as with so many of those previously made decisions, I took the path of least resistance…I just kept sitting.  I pulled my coat over my head and got soaked.  But I watched the last hour of the movie, I enjoyed the movie and I survived my first movie alone.  And by survived I mean, I left looking like something worse than a drowned rat.  

I’ve been at GTMO for less than a week and I have done a few things besides go to movies alone.  I’ve been the third wheel for at least 2 dates, which is pretty much every girl’s dream, and I’ve left my GOV in reverse on a hill (don’t worry, my sponsor caught it).  In all seriousness, I’m extremely lucky to be here.  I mean, it looks like this for Pete’s sake!

And the beaches are a little rocky but I’ve already been snorkeling a couple of times and these beaches are truly made for snorkeling.  Plus, even with a few rocks, they’re still gorgeous.

And I have gotten a mosquito bite here and there but I’m comforted knowing these guys are eating as many as they can.

The iguanas are everywhere.  There’s one that comes in and out of a drain pipe just below my billeting room.  He’s highly suspicious of me which he indicates with vigorous head bobbing.  If he wasn’t such a good mosquito eater, we’d have words.

Also, really quickly, I’m happy to report that Kurt and I were able to spend some quality time together in D.C.  We even got pictures of us hanging out.  If you don’t get it then good for you because it means you’ve never survived solely on Skype.

For now, that’s all from Cuba.  It’s surreal being here and I fully intend to make the most of this gift of a deployment.  I’ve updated my address on the contacts page but my email address is still the same.  Now I’m off to bed…as soon as I post my blog to Facebook and finish looking at pictures of the Holzhauer children on Facebook and I should probably update my Facebook status before I go to bed too…  See you all on Facebook!

One Response to The Social Network

  1. Island Mom says:

    I LOVE that J. and S. got a personal mention on your blog.
    Also, we are surviving solely on Skype right now, and I still didn’t get it right away, so I’m not sure what that says about me? lol. But, know that you are not alone in that!

Leave a Reply

