Since We Last Spoke

 

Honestly, not a whole lot has happened.  The Office of Military Commissions did send someone to jail which was kind of a big deal but that was over a week ago so I’m going to focus on, well…yesterday.  Yesterday was a big day for me because it was the first time since arriving at GTMO, oh, and definitely the first time in my life, that I had an iguana run straight at me.  One of the biggest iguanas I’ve seen so far….

chased two smaller iquanas straight at me.  It was terrifying.  And some of you may be asking the same question my dad did, are they really that fast?  The answer is yes.  Those puppies can move!  Sure it’s an awkward wobbly run but somehow that only makes it more terrifying.  I don’t know what happens when an iguana catches up with you but I’m sure whatever it is, is nightmarish. 

Before the iguana helped me do a startlingly good impression of Road Runner, I did manage to take a few pictures.  There’s a slightly beaten up lighthouse and a kind of boat graveyard on one part of the coast that’s fun to walk through.  I did learn today that you can get a key to the lighthouse and there’s a museum inside.  Yet another thing to do if anyone is brave enough to visit so close to communism.  Here’s a few of the pics:

Here’s a picture of my office and several of the other folks that I work with more indirectly.  It’s a fun group and I’m certain this is one of the few times I’ll have an office picture with the ocean in the background:

This week is the Marine Corps Ball which I’m lucky enough to be attending (I have to say that, I’m on a naval base) and in not too long I’ll be getting off island for a bit.  Can you believe it’s been 6 months since Kurt left?  I feel like I haven’t seen him in years.  So there will be crying and turkey eating and everything else that goes with a Thanksgiving/return from deployment trip.  And I’m excited to come home for even just a few days because so much has happened since I left.  I think nearly everyone in my family has had a life changing event.  I only have two cousins and one got married and one had a baby.  I have two brothers and one got engaged and the other sent his daughter off to college.  I only have one best friend and she bought a house.  I only have one Kia and it’s been to the shop 3 times since I left.  Honestly, I leave for 2 months…

But an old friend posted a very old picture on Facebook that made me laugh outloud which almost compensates for missing all those life changing events.  I’m just going to sit back and let you guys soak this one up.  Oh, and I’m not the only one in this picture that is now an Air Force JAG.  Seriously, who would have thought?

That leaves you with enough to think about for today.  I know it blows my mind.

Leave a Reply

